TTA Gala Dinner & Awards Night 2019


Tasmanian Transport Association Chairman John de Bruyn congratulated those recognised for their outstanding achievements at the 2019 TTA Gala Dinner and Awards Night, held Saturday evening at the Hobart Function & Conference Centre on Hobart’s fabulous waterfront.

“We congratulate those businesses and individuals who were recognised for their outstanding contribution and commitment to the Tasmanian transport industry” said Mr de Bruyn.

Philip Molineux received the NTI Industry Achievement Award. “This is recognition of the impact Philip has had, over his 35-year transport industry career to date, with Linfox, TNT and Caltas & the Bonney Group” said Shane Fairhall of NTI. Philip is a past chairman and long term director of the Tasmanian Transport Association, and a former chairman and Victorian representative to the Australasian Convenience and Petroleum Marketers Association (ACAPMA) and a member of the Committee of Management for ARTIO Tasmanian Branch.

Two finalists were recognised for their excellence in the NTI 2019 Professional Driver of the Year Award; Daryl Smith of SRT Logistics and Sarah Brosnan of Fonterra Farm Milk Cartage.

Finalist Daryl Smith has around 30 years driving experience, is a mentor to new drivers and was awarded the 2017 B-Double backing award at the Tasmanian Truck Show. He has also been awarded a Star of Courage for bravery.

Award Recipient Sarah Brosnan has around 20 years experience in the industry, operating a range of equipment from concrete agitators, general freight, tipper work and now drives a PBS B-Double Milk Collection Tanker. Sarah has actively pursued a professional career in transport, spending time with Heather Jones as part of the Pilbara Heavy Haulage girls and was a key contributor to the Women behind the Wheel and Women in Transport Tasmania programs. Sarah has a clean driving record and no incidents in her driving career.

Monson Logistics was recognised for a range of initiatives designed to increase diversity and develop a younger workforce within their business. Established in 1992, when Bruce and Toni Monson opened a Ships Agency office in Burnie the company slowly grew its fleet operations to seven prime movers in June 2007 through to the current fleet of 39 prime movers, two tandem rigid trucks, and over 100 trailer combinations. The competent and committed workforce of over 75 employees has been central to the growth of the business. Monson Logistics average driver age is in the mid 30’s and many local area managers are also in the mid 30’s. The award was accepted for Monson Logistics by Darren Young and presented by Steven Dietrich and Erin Mollinson of TasRail.

The Gallagher 2019 Transport Industry Young Achiever Award was taken out by Isaac Jacobson, who works in the stores area of SRT Logistics at Western Junction. Isaac has completed a Schools based Apprenticeship whilst working at SRT and also completing his Year 12 studies. “Isaac demonstrates the qualities we are seeking for the future of our industry, in terms of enthusiasm, work ethic and a commitment to a future career in transport and logistics” said Dan Quintin of Gallagher when presenting the award.

The TTA’s 2019 Future Leader Troy Streefland gave a presentation on the impact that the Daimler Truck & Bus / ATA Future Leaders program had on him and introduced the TTA’s 2020 Future Leader; Justin King of Monson Logistics.

Approximately 200 guests attended the Gala Dinner and Awards night, including the CEO of the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator Sal Petroccitto, Chairman of the TWUSUPER Fund David Galbally AM, QC, senior representatives of the Tasmanian Department of State Growth, CEO of the ATA Ben Maguire, Chair of TruckSafe Ferdie Kroon, Chair of Transport Women Australia Jacquelene Brotherton, Australian Freight Industry Personality of the Year Chas Kelly, VTA CEO Peter Anderson, SARTA President Sharon Middleton, CEO of TasRail Steven Dietrich, General Manager of TasBus Geoff Lewis, and companies including Caltas, the Bonney Group, SRT Logistics, Toll, SeaRoad, Chas Kelly Transport, De Bruyn’s Transport, Webster Trucks Isuzu, Barker Trailers, Rayner Transport, BPW Transpec, Port of Melbourne, Gallagher, TasRail, Veolia, Brianna, Hazell Bros, Tas Heavy Haulage, Westar Trucks, Quinn Transport, FRM Hino, and TasPorts.

“We acknowledge and thank our valued industry partners who contribute to this event, particularly our platinum sponsors: NTI and the TWU Superannuation Fund; our gold sponsors: FRM Hino, Barker Trailers, BPW Transpec, Webster Trucks ISUZU and Caltas / Bonney Group. Our silver sponsors Gallagher, Port of Melbourne and TasPorts. Without their support such an important event, celebrating the success and professionalism of the Tasmanian Transport Industry, would not be possible” said Mr de Bruyn.

Steven Dietrich (TasRail), Darren Young (Monson Logistics) and Erin Mollinson (TasRail) present the 2019 TasRail Tasmanian Transport Industry Workforce Diversity Award to Monson Logistics

TTA 2019 Gala Dinner & Awards Night

6:30pm, Saturday 5th October 2019 - Hobart Function & Conference Centre, Hobart


The TTA Gala Dinner & Awards Night is a night of celebration for the Tasmanian Transport Industry.  Awards are presented to recognise the achievements of both individuals and businesses in the Tasmanian industry.

The 2019 Awards are:

  • Industry Achievement, sponsored by National Transport Insurance
  • Professional Truck Driver, sponsored by National Transport Insurance
  • Young Achiever, sponsored by Gallagher Insurance
  • Workforce Diversity, sponsored by TasRail

Download the Awards Nomination Form here: 2019 AWARDS NOMINATION FORM


Reserve your place at the Transport Industry's "night of nights" - to book contact the Tasmanian Transport Association on 0427 366 742, or to book your tickets.

Members Table of 10 = $150 per person, Members Single Tickets = $160 per person

Non TTA Members Table of 10 = $160 per person, Non TTA Members Single Tickets = $170 per person

Online bookings are available here: BOOK NOW



The Gala Dinner & Awards Night is made possible with the generous support of our partners -


TWUSUPER Fund and National Transport Insurance



     Webster Trucks

Barker Trailers, BPW Transpec, FRM HINO, Caltas Bonney Group, and Webster Trucks ISUZU



TasPorts, Gallagher Insurance, Port of Melbourne


Call the TTA by phone: 0427 366 742 or email: - We're here and interested to support you and your business